Saturday, June 10, 2023  |



Boxing luminaries to attend BWAA awards dinner on Thursday

Fighters Network

The 88th annual dinner of the Boxing Writers Association of America (BWAA) will be held this Thursday, April 11, at the Capitale in New York City.

Confirmed attendees include Nonito Donaire (the BWAA’s Fighter of the Year), Juan Manuel Marquez who will accept The Ali-Frazier Award Fight of the Year award he and Manny Pacquiao earned with their fourth fight), Roy Jones Jr., Tim Bradley, Paul Malignaggi, Steve Cunningham, Ruslan Provodnikov, and Danny Jacobs (Bill Crawford Award Courage Overcoming Adversity).

Mike Alvarado and Gennady Golovkin have also recently announced their plans to attend the gala, which is open to the public.

However, there are a limited number of tickets still available. They can be purchased by contacting Event Coordinator Gina Andriolo at [email protected] (917-312-6418) or BWAA President Jack Hirsch at [email protected] (516-790-7592).

There will be ample opportunities to take photos, get autographs, and chat with the many celebrities in attendance. All ticket holders will receive a gift bag valued at approximately $125.

Dave Diamante the host of NBC’s sports show “The Lights” will serve as Master of Ceremonies.

Bernie Awards for boxing writing winners will also be presented.

Cocktails are available at 6:00 p.m. ET, followed at 7:30 p.m. ET by dinner and the awards ceremony.


2012 BWAA Award Winners

Nonito Donaire: The Sugar Ray Robinson Award Fighter of the Year

Robert Garcia: The Eddie Futch Award Trainer of the Year

Juan Manuel Marguez-Manny Pacquiao IV: The Ali-Frazier Award Fight of the Year

Al Haymon: The Cus D’Amato Award Manager of the Year

Kathy Duva & Bruce Trampler: The Barney Nagler Award Long & Meritorious Service

Steve Farhood: The Marvin Kohn Award Good Guy

Danny Jacobs: The Bill Crawford Award Courage Overcoming Adversity

Peter Finney: The A.J. Liebling Award Outstanding Boxing Writer

Dave Kindred: The Nat Fleischer Award Excellence In Boxing Journalism

Max Kellerman: The Sam Taub Award Excellence in Broadcast Journalism


For full information on the dinner go to