Tuesday, May 28, 2024  |


BWAA to honor Floyd Mayweather Jr. two days before Marcos Maidana fight

Fighters Network



Pound-for-pound king Floyd Mayweather Jr. will be honored as the recipient of the "Sugar Ray Robinson Award" for the "2013 Fighter of the Year" from the Boxing Writers Association of America on May 1 at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas, Nevada, site of Mayweather's RING, WBC and WBA 147-pound championship defense against WBA counterpart Marcos Maidana two days later.

The 89th-annual BWAA banquet will also honor the WBO welterweight bout between Tim Bradley and Ruslan Provodnikov as "Muhammad Ali-Joe Frazier Fight of the Year" and Freddie Roach as the winner of the "Eddie Futch Award for Trainer of the Year."

In addition, the BWAA has named Al Haymon, advisor to Mayweather and many other world-class boxers, as the winner of the "Cus D'Amato Manager of the Year Award."

Last September, Mayweather (45-0, 26 knockouts) dethroned Saul "Canelo" Alvarez by majority decision for the RING and WBC 154-pound championships in a bout that became the highest-grossing boxing event of all time with nearly $150 million in revenue reported.

Mayweather-Alvarez eclipsed the $136 million earned by Mayweather’s 2007 victory over Oscar De la Hoya, the last time Mayweather was named the BWAA's "Fighter of the Year."

Last May, Mayweather, who turned 37 last month, unanimously decisioned Robert Guerrero in defense of the WBC 147-pound title he had earned by dethroning Victor Ortiz via fourth-round stoppage in September of 2011, also cementing his status as RING welterweight champion.

Mayweather's promotional company has several fighters, one of whom, Ishe Smith, briefly held the IBF's junior middleweight belt.

Bradley (31-0, 12 KOs) rose from a 12th-round knockdown to secure a unanimous decision over Ruslan Provodnikov in March in defense of the belt he won by split decision over Manny Pacquiao in June. Bradley followed that up with a split decision over Juan Manuel Marquez in October.

Provodnikov (23-2, 16 KOs) rebounded with October's 10th-round stoppage win that dethroned Mike Alvarado as WBO 140-pound beltholder.

Already a five-time winner of the "Trainer of the Year Award," Roach guided Pacquiao to a comeback, unanimous decision victory over Brandon Rios in November, this, after having been a major influence in Provodnikov's victory over Alvarado.

Roach referred Provodnikov to assistant Marvin Somodio against Alvarado as he traveled to General Santos City, Philippines, to train Pacquiao for Rios.

Roach also helped revive the career of three-division titlewinner Miguel Cotto and will be in his corner when he challenges RING and WBC middleweight champion Sergio Martinez on June 7 at New York's Madison Square Garden.

Haymon's stable includes Mayweather, Maidana, Danny Garcia, Adrien Broner, Adonis Stevenson, Shawn Porter, Keith Thurman, Lucas Matthysse, Chad Dawson, Robert Guerrero, Luis Collazo, Lamont Peterson, Leo Santa Cruz, Deontay Wilder, Gary Russell Jr., Peter Quillin, Sakio Bika, Anthony Dirrell, Andre Berto, Devon Alexander, Paulie Malignaggi, Chris Arreola, Edwin Rodriguez, Austin Trout and Anthony Peterson.

Two of Haymon's major signings in 2014 were Maidana, in advance of his unanimous decision that dethroned Broner as WBA 147-pound beltholder on December 14, and Malignaggi in the wake of his unanimous decision over Zab Judah on December 7.

Malignaggi, also a Showtime ringside boxing analyst, has been named the winner of the BWAA's "Sam Taub Award for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism."

Former welterweight titleholder Paul Williams will be the recipient of the BWAA's recipient of the "Bill Crawford Award for Courage in Overcoming Adversity."

Williams has remained active and maintained his zest for life despite having suffered a career-ending motorcycle accident at the age of 30 in May of 2012 that rendered him paralyzed from the waist down.

Williams, now 32, retired with a record of 41-2 (including 27 knockouts) following a unanimous decision over Japan’s Nobuhiro Ishida in February of 2012. The fighters once known as "The Punisher" still goes hunting, fishing and boating.

Tied for honors as the recepients of the "Barney Nagler Long and Meritorious Service Award" were Lee Samuels, a 32-year publicist for Top Rank Promotions, and respected broadcaster Colonel Bob Sheridan.

Other honorees were Showtime's boxing announcer Jimmy Lennon Jr. for the "Marvin Kohn Good Guy Award," ESPN boxing writer Dan Rafael for the "Nat Fleischer Award for Excellence in Boxing Journalism" and Sandy Grady as the "A.J. Liebling Award" recepient for "Outstanding Boxing Writing."

For more information, go to the BWAA's website by clicking here.