Sunday, March 03, 2024  |



Mayweather to be honored as Male Fighter of The Year

Fighters Network



Floyd Mayweather Jr. will be honored as Male Fighter of The Year by The Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame during its inaugural induction ceremony on Saturday night at The Monte Carlo Resort and Casino in Las Vegas, an event that was sold out a week ago.

Mayweather, who will challenge Canelo Alvarez on Sept. 14 at the MGM Grand, will be honored for his unanimous decision over Robert Guerrero at the same venue last May.

He will share the stage with the first class of Nevada-resident boxers to be inducted into the state’s Hall of Fame, including former undisputed heavyweight champion Mike Tyson, former beltholder Mike McCallum, and the late Diego Corrales. Corrales’ wife Michelle will accept on his behalf.

The non-Nevada resident category is comprised of Oscar De La Hoya, Julio Cesar Chavez, Larry Holmes and Sugar Ray Leonard. Among the trainers are the late Eddie Futch and protege Freddie Roach, with Futch’s widow, Eva, accepting on his behalf.

Referees Mills Lane and Joe Cortez, as well as media greats Al Bernstein and Royce Feour are also being inducted, with Bernstein hitting a triple crown as a new member of the International Boxing Hall of Fame and the Connecticut Hall of Fame this year.

Promoters Bob Arum and Don King, and executives Marc Ratner and James Nave will all be honored.

Three other Nevada-based boxers who will receive plaques honoring their achievements over the past year are Layla McCarter, Jesse Magdaleno and Josue Gaytan.

McCarter will be named the Female Fighter of the Year, Magdaleno, the Nevada Prospect of the Year, and Gaytan, the Nevada Amateur Fighter of the Year.

The NVBHOF’s director, longtime boxing commentator and historian Rich Marotta, said, “We are a Nevada-centric organization and we want to recognize not only the past greats, the inductees, but those from Nevada who are making it happen in our state right now.”


Photo by Al Bello, Getty Images

Lem Satterfield can be reached at [email protected]