Sunday, May 29, 2022  |

News

Aficianado

Guillermo Rigondeaux’s KO win over Moises Flores overturned

26
Jun

Guillermo Rigondeaux’s knockout of Moises Flores was short-lived.

What was merely a procedural formality was made official Monday: the result is now a no decision.

That’s because Rigondeaux’s overhand left connected after the bell to conclude Round 1. When referee Vic Drakulich and Nevada State Athletic Commission Executive Director Bob Bennett consulted immediately in the ring, they didn’t have the aid of audio.

When they watched the replay with access to sound the next day, they determined “there’s no doubt that the the punch was thrown after the bell rang,” Bennett told RingTV.com at the time.

So NSAC officials unanimously voted to overturn the result to a no decision. A disqualification wasn’t rendered because the foul wasn’t deemed intentional.

It’s likely the WBA will order a rematch now of the mandatory junior featherweight title fight between Rigondeaux (17-0, 11 knockouts), THE RING’s No. 1 contender, and Flores (25-0, 17 KOs), the No. 5-rated 122-pounder.

 

Mike Coppinger is the Senior Writer for RingTV.com. Follow him on Twitter: @MikeCoppinger

close

SIGN UP TO GET RING NEWS ALERTS