Friday, December 02, 2022  |

News

Aficianado

Pedro Campa to face Miguel Angel Huerta on Nov. 6

08
Oct

Junior welterweight Pedro Campa will make his United States debut on Nov. 6, when he fights veteran Miguel Angel Huerta, Golden Boy Promotions announced Thursday morning.

The 10-round bout will take place at the Belasco Theater in Los Angeles, Calif. The bout will top a Golden Boy card and will be televised live on Estrella TV, beginning at 10 p.m. ET/ 7 p.m. PT.

RingTVLive.com will air preliminary action, beginning at 8:30 p.m. ET/ 5:30 p.m. PT.

Campa (18-0, 14 knockouts), who hails from Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico, barely stayed unbeaten in his last bout on May 23, winning a close, six-round decision over Noe Nunez. The win snapped a streak of six consecutive knockout wins.



Campa has wins over veteran fighters Cristian Favela, Jorge Pimentel and Joel Juarez.

Huerta (28-13-1, 18 KOs) will be the best fighter on paper Campa will face thus far. The 37-year-old has fought a who’s who of lightweight and junior welterweight contenders during his 16-year career.

After an almost five-year hiatus, Huerta returned to the ring in Sept. of 2013, losing an eight-round decision to Mauricio Herrera. He has also suffered losses to Antonio Orozco and Haskell Rhodes.

Unbeaten junior featherweight Joet Gonzalez will fight an opponent to be determined in an eight-round bout.

Opening the “LA Fight Club” telecast will be Hector Tanajara Jr. fighting in a six-round bout.

Fight fans tuning in to the RingTVLive.com telecast can watch a six-round, super middleweight bout between Alan Campa and Fabiano Pena.

 

Francisco A. Salazar has written for RingTV since Oct. of 2013 and has covered boxing in Southern California and abroad since 2000. Francisco also covers boxing for the Ventura County (CA) Star newspaper, Boxingscene.com, and Knockout Nation. He can be reached by email at [email protected] or on Twitter at FSalazarBoxing

 

close

SIGN UP TO GET RING NEWS ALERTS