Malik Scott denies taking a dive against Deontay Wilder
Heavyweight Malik Scott took to his Twitter account to deny taking a dive against Deontay Wilder, who took just 96 seconds to knock him out on Saturday in Puerto Rico.
In a WBC title eliminator, Wilder (31-0, 31 knockouts) knocked out Scott (36-2-1, 13 knockouts) with a straight right hand after a left hook to the temple.
Although it appeared to be partially blocked, Wilder's right hand followed the left and seemed to pierce the highly-held guard of Scott, who failed to beat the 10-count of referee Roberto Ramirez Jr.
"Congratulations to Deontay wilder @BronzeBomber on his victory last night," wrote Scott, whose statement also appeared on his facebook page. "No excuses!!!"
Prior to facing Wilder, Scott had rebounded from a disputed sixth-round knockout loss to England's Dereck Chisora in July with a second-round stoppage of Grover Young in January.
"First they say I took a dive in the chisora fight like I paid the ref to count me out at the 8/9…smh..," wrote Scott. "I get hit wit a left hook directly on my temple by a pure puncher now I so called took another dive..smh..I still love you insipid b–ches!!!"
In victory, the 6-foot-7 Wilder, a 2008 OIympic bronze medalist, became the mandatory challenger to the Bermane Stiverne-Chris Arreola rematch.
Stiverne and Arreola are competing for the title vacated by Vitali Klitschko and their bout is reportedly taking place on May 10 at a site to be determined.