Sunday, December 04, 2022  |



Tyson, Chavez eligible to enter Hall of Fame


The International Boxing Hall of Fame has sent to voters ballots for 2010, which includes two sure first-ballot inductees. Mike Tyson and Julio Cesar Chavez, both eligible for the first time, dominated the sport from the 1980s to the mid-2000s.

Tyson (50-6, 44 knockouts) riveted the world with his crushing power and self-destructive behavior in and out of the ring. Of course, that includes biting off a portion of Evander Holyfield’s ear. He was the youngest-ever heavyweight champion and won versions of the title five times.

Chavez (107-6-2, 86 KOs) became Mexico’s greatest-ever fighter and a national hero, building a record of 89-0-1 at one point and winning six titles in three weight classes.

Another fighter in his first year of eligibility, Kostya Tszyu, has a good chance of being inducted in his first try. The Russia-born Aussie (31-2, 25 KOs) was one of the most-consistent winners of his time, holding at least one of the junior welterweight titles almost continuously from 1995 to 2005.

Others on the ballot, for “Moderns” only (last bout no earlier than 1943): Georgie Abrams, Horacio Accavallo, Joey Archer, Jose Becerra, Johnny Bratton, Jimmy Carruthers, Donald Curry, Hiroyuki Ebihara, Tommy Farr, Tiger Jack Fox, Ceferino Garcia, Betulio Gonzalez, Yoko Gushiken, Naseem Hamed, Carlos Hernandez, Rafael Herrera, Al Hostak, Harry Jeffra, Peter Kane , Cocoa Kid, Pone Kingpetch, Santos Laciar, Tippy Larkin, Jose Legra, Miguel “Happy” Lora, Raul “Raton” Macias, Ernesto Marcel, Freddie Mills, Rinty Monaghan, Masao Ohba, Sven Ottke, Ken Overline, Gustave Roth, Lou Salica, Dave Sands, Petey Scalzo, Samuel Serrano, Yoshiro Shirai, Kid Tunero, Wilfredo Vazquez, Myung-Woo Yuh and Hilario Zapata.

The inductees will be announced in early December. The induction ceremony is set for June 12 of next year at the International Boxing Hall of Fame in Canastota, N.Y.