Thursday, August 11, 2022  |

News

Aficianado

Bradley-Campbell result reversed

24
Aug

The result of the Timothy Bradley-Nate Campbell fight on Aug. 1 in Rancho Mirage, Calif., has been changed by the California State Athletic Commission from a TKO victory for Bradley to a no-decision.

Bradley was awarded a TKO victory after referee David Mendoza ruled that a cut over Campbell’s left eye in the third round – which ended the fight – was caused by a punch. However , the CSAC recognized after watching a video of the fight that an accidental head butt was to blame.

A fight is ruled a no-decision when it ends as a result of an accidental butt within five rounds.

“I only asked for justice for my fighter Nate Campbell, and that is what I received from the California State Athletic Commission today,” promoter Don King said. “ÔǪ The fairest outcome of all is the one they chose where neither fighter’s record is blemished from a match that was halted early due to an accidental clash of heads.”

Campbell (33-5-1, 25 knockouts) complained vociferously in the ring immediately after Mendoza’s ruling but had to wait more than three weeks for justice. Bradley (24-0, 11 KOs) seemed to be controlling the fight when it was stopped.

close

SIGN UP TO GET RING NEWS ALERTS