Mike Tyson to present BWAA Fight of the Year award to Bradley, Provodnikov


Former undisputed heavyweight champion Mike Tyson will present the "Muhammad Ali-Joe Frazier" Fight of The Year award to Tim Bradley and Ruslan Provodnikov at Thursday's Boxing Writers Assoc. of America Award dinner at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas for their thrilling bout during which Bradley rose from a 12th-round knockdown for a unanimous decision last March.

"I am looking forward to presenting Timothy Bradley and Ruslan Provodnikov the 2013 Fight of the Year award," said Tyson, now a promoter with Iron Mike Productions. "They gave everything they had in the ring and did themselves proud. As a promoter, I encourage all of our guys to give the same effort that these two did. I look forward to the day when a fight from one of our shows wins this award."

Also to be honored at the dinner are pound-for-pound king Floyd Mayweather Jr. as the recipient of The Sugar Ray Robinson award for the 2013 Fighter Of The Year, and, for the sixth time, Freddie Roach as the winner of the "Eddie Futch" award for Trainer of The Year. In addition, the BWAA honored Al Haymon, the advisor to Mayweather and many other world-class boxers, as the recepient of the Cus D'Amato "Manager Of The Year" award.

"It's a huge honor," said Mayweather, during a conference call promoting his May 3 defense of his RING and WBC welterweight championships against WBA counterpart Marcos Maidana at the MGM Grand. "I'm very thankful, very blessed, and everybody that voted for me, all the media and all the people on all of the social outlets, different social media sites, I'm just thankful. I didn't do it by myself. Everybody that's on this conference call played a major role with helping me and helping Al."

Paulie Malignaggi, a Showtime ringside boxing analyst, as the winner of the BWAA's Sam Taub Award for "Excellence in Broadcast Journalism."

"It's pretty cool that I've gotten this award because I haven't been doing it for very long. It's been almost a year and a half. The fact that I've gotten it so quickly it means that people appreciate listening to me," said Malignaggi.

"I couldn't have done it without having a great cast around me. The guys at Showtime have really coached me through some things and given me a lot of lessons and tips. I'm fortunate to have my first experience be among such experienced guys."

Former titleholder Paul Williams was named the recipient of the BWAA's recipient of the Bill Crawford award for "Courage in Overcoming Adversity." Williams has remained active and maintained his zest for life despite having suffered a career-ending motorcycle accident at the age of 30 in May of 2012 that rendered him paralyzed from the waist down.

Tied for honors as the recepients of The Barney Nagler "Long and Meritorious Service" award were Lee Samuels, a 32-year publicist for Top Rank, and respected broadcaster Colonel Bob Sheridan.

Other honorees are Showtime's boxing announcer Jimmy Leonnon Jr. for The Marvin Kohn "Good Guy" award, ESPN boxing writer, Dan Rafael, for "Exellence in Boxing Journalism" and the Nat Fleischer award; and Sandy Grady as the A.J. Liebling award recepient for "Outstanding Boxing Writing."