Lem’s latest: Mauricio Sulaiman voted to lead WBC


Mauricio Sulaiman was unanimously selected as the new president of the World Boxing Council on Tuesday, replacing his father, Jose Sulaiman, who died last month following complications from heart surgery in early October.

By a landslide, 26-0, Mauricio Suliaman, 44, was chosen by the Board of Governors to become the sixth president of the WBC in the wake of his 82-year-old patriarch's nearly four-decade reign.

"It was a really emotional meeting and I am convinced that this is for my father. I will always be the son of Jose Sulaiman, and the WBC is a very solid, very strong organization with many, many people involved. All of the members of the Board of Governors, I have known since I was a kid," said former said Sulaiman, former WBC secretary general, in an interview with

"They're honorable, they're great, they have shared the values and principles of my father for many years, and I am sure that the WBC will continue with them being the leaders of the organization. As I have always said, I will always serve in any capacity, but the true power and the true force is with the Board of Governors."



Four-time heavyweight champion Evander Holyfield, George Foreman and four-division champion Roberto Duran were among those announced to the second induction class of The Nevada Hall of Fame on Tuesday.

Holyfield, Foreman and Duran were selected in the non-Nevada-resident category, while former heavyweight champion, Joe Louis, was chosen in the adoptive-resident group for fighters who moved to Nevada after their careers had ended.

Ex-140-pound titleholder Cornelius Boza-Edwards and former heavyweight champion Sonny Liston were voted in under the category for Nevada residents, and former light heavyweight champion Archie Moore and heavyweight champion Jack Dempsey in the Pioneer class for those who prominently contributed to Nevada boxing prior to 1960.

The fighters, chosen within a class of 18 honorees over 10 categories, will be honored during a summer dinner ceremony at a site to be determined in Las Vegas, according to a release by Rich Marotta, founder and president of the NVBHOF.

"We at the NVBHOF are thrilled to again honor those, both in and out of the ring, who have made Nevada the 'Boxing Capitol of the World.' Last year's Inaugural Induction Ceremony/Dinner was a massive success, with fans coming to the event from all over the country to mix with, have dinner with, and hear from the amazing boxing personalities who took part," said Marotta.

"With another fantastic list of worthy inductees, we are in the planning stages of our fan events and of course, induction gala. We will also, as is our-stated mission, continue to donate to boxing-related causes such as youth and amateur Groups, college boxing programs and former fighters in dire financial and medical situations."

Under the officials' category, Las Vegas residents Richard Steele and Kenny Bayless were selected; Top Rank matchmaker Bruce Trampler is being honored in the category for matchmakers, publicists and promoters; Las Vegas resident Kevin Iole of Yahoo!Sports is being recognized in the media group, as is television announcer Col. Bob Sheridan; and re-known cut man and trainer, Miguel Diaz, was chosen in the non-boxers' category for trainers, managers and cut men.

Also being recognized in the special contributors' category are casino magnate Steve Wynn, of The Mirage and The Wynn, and Clifford Perlman, former CEO of Caesars Palace. Chosen in the executive category were 14-year former Nevada State Athletic chairman Luther Mack and Chuck Minker, the former NSAC executive director who died in 1992.